• 2023 Young American Award Winners

  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5



The Western Connecticut Military Officers Association will hold our signature event:

The Young American Awards banquet

Sunday, 9 June 2023, from 5:00pm to 8:30pm at the Norwalk Inn, Norwalk, CT.  Please join our Young American Awardees from all over Fairfield County!

 To make event reservations :


Award Winners, Family, and other Guests – CLICK HERE

If you have any questions, please contact your school liaison officer or the Young American Awards co-chairs:

John Simonetti  or call 203 908-5085;


Louise Simonetti  or call 203 520-6423

Last Year’s YAA Event


Ella McNulty, 2023 Young American Award winner with her parents, Julie and Paul – CONGRATULATIONS!

Please join the Western Connecticut Military Officers Association in congratulating Ella McNulty of Norwalk High School as our 2023 Young American Award Winner!

The WCMOA 2023 Young American Awards was an outstanding success with 27 schools represented from our local Fairfield County community.  Tashua Knolls Country Club was an outstanding venue allowing our nominees, their guests, and our WCMOA membership plenty of opportunity to not only socialize, but discuss the nuances of our event and how it honors those “who have gone before…”  Please join us in congratulating all of our 2023 Young American Award winners:

Quest Young American Award, Ella McNulty, Norwalk High School – $3000
LT Lee R Hartwell Award, Madelynn Silberger, St Joseph High Schoo – $2000
SgtMaj Allan J Kellogg Jr Award, Frederick Osborne, Fairfield Warde High School – $2000
Simonetti Trust Leadership Award, Jackson Hicks, Fairfield Prep High School – $1000
Thundercat Technology Young American Award, Yee-Ying Ng, Bethel High School -1000
YAA Grit Award, Jack Hay, Ridgefield High School, $1000
Cole Family Literacy Award, Kimberly Hernandez, Fairfield Notre Dame High School – $750
Grand Pre Essay Award, Casey Cummings, Joel Barlow High School – $750
Grand Pre Essay Award, Bradley Stevens, Darien High School – $750
Samuel Clemons Literacy Award, Christopher Tierney, Masuk High School – $750
Harriet Beecher Stowe Literacy Award, Christopher Murphy, Greens Farms Academy – $750
Ethan Allen Leadership Award, Calvin Swenson, Brookfield High School – $750
Captain Dee Lippman Leadership Award, Grant Ziegler, Westport High School – $750
Colonel Henry Mucci Leadership Award, Sophia Nitzell, Greenwich High School – $750
YAA Award, Andrea Chagoyan, Bunnell High School – $500
YAA Award, Jonathan Jean, Bridgeport High School – $500
YAA Award, Dylan Gangi, New Fairfield High School – $500
YAA Award, Tiara Campbell, Bridgeport Central High School – $500
YAA Award, Sophie Martinez, New Canaan High School – $500
YAA Award, Ayana Atkinson, Stratford High School – $500
YAA Award, Michael Citarella, Trumbull High School – $500
YAA Award, Emily Ochoa, Brien McMahon High School – $500
YAA Award, Michaela Martin, Immaculate High School – $500
YAA Award, Gianiece Cope, Bridgeport Military Academy – $500
YAA Award, Mia Cawley, Wilton High School – $500
YAA Award, Grant Carson, Newtown High School – $500


A special thanks to the Young American Awards committee and its Co-Chairs Captain Mary Durand and Captain Donna Monteleone.

If you would like to be part of the YAA team, please reach out to our president, 1LT Matt Hicks, +1-917-887-2195, or .

Chapter Activities

The chapter holds business and social meetings quarterly.    Regular quarterly meetings are held at a variety of venues within Fairfield county and we always have an engaging guest speaker.

In June, the chapter conducts an impressive formal military dinner and ceremony to honor our Young American Awardees.  The Young American Awards Program (YAA) honors  graduating seniors from over 30 area High Schools, selected for their patriotism and leadership potential.  Be sure to check the chapter’s newsletter for location and program information, or or contact Donna Monteleone, Membership & Recruiting Chair, on or +1-203-577-9568.


Powered by 123ehost.com